27.01.2022 | revised on: 27.04.2022

From architecture to urban mobility, 16 renowned experts from science and industry will judge seven of the ten contests in the university competition for sustainable building and living in cities. In three contests, the best measurement result is what counts.

Eighteen university teams from eleven countries will take part in the Solar Decathlon Europe 21/22 this June in Wuppertal. They will present their ideas, solutions, and designs for a resource-efficient and climate-neutral city. On the Solar Campus from 10 to 26 June, they will present their overall concepts and showcase their house demonstration units – fully operational buildings in the centre of town.

The teams’ work will be evaluated in a total of ten contests. Energy performance, comfort, and house functioning will be precisely monitored in the demonstration units and the data obtained will be used for the assessment. The categories of architecture, engineering & construction, affordability & viability, communication, education & social awareness, sustainability, urban mobility, and innovation will be evaluated by a jury of 16 experts who will ultimately decide which team will make it to the winner’s podium.

One member of the jury is Anne Lacaton, who was awarded the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 2021. The Pritzker Architecture Prize is regarded as the Nobel Prize of the architecture world.

The members of the Solar Decathlon 21/22 jury
© SDE 21/22
From architecture to urban mobility – these experts will judge seven of the ten contests within SDE 21/22.

The members of the jury are:


  • Prof. Dietmar Eberle (1st row, 3rd from left)
    Baumschlager Eberle Architekten | Austria
  • Jette Cathrin Hopp (2nd row, 2nd from left)
    Snøhetta | Norway
  • Fuensanta Nieto (1st row, 2nd from left)
    Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos | Spain/Germany

Engineering & construction

  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Maria Wall (4th row, 1st from left)
    Lund University | Sweden
  • Dr.-Ing. Markus Lichtmeß (3rd row, 1st from left)
    Institute for Building Energy Research | Germany
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Nathan Van Den Bossche (3rd row, 2nd from left)
    Ghent University | Belgium

Affordability & viability

  • Anne Lacaton (2nd row, 4th from left)
    Lacaton & Vassal | France
  • Prof. Dr. Guido Spars (1st row, 4th from left)
    Bundesstiftung Bauakademie | Germany

Communication, education & social awareness

  • Richard King (3rd row, 4th from left)
    Founder of the Solar Decathlon | USA
  • Jakob Schoof (2nd row, 1st from left)
    DETAIL | Germany
  • Ass.-Prof. DI Dr.Karin Stieldorf (3rd row, 3rd from left)
    TU Wien | Austria


  • Dr. Anna Braune (1st row, 1st from left)
    German Sustainable Building Council (DGNB) | Germany
  • Søren Nielsen (4th row, 2nd from left)
    Vandkunsten Architects | Denmark

Urban mobility

  • Dr. Jörg Beckmann (2nd row, 3rd from left)
    Mobility Academy | Switzerland
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heather Kaths (4th row, 3rd from left)
    University of Wuppertal | Germany
  • Prof. Dr. John Whitelegg (4th row, 4th from left)
    University of York | UK

The jury will score the teams based on inspections of the houses, project presentations by the teams, and documents submitted by the teams during the course of the competition. In all contests, scoring will be based on the house demonstration units on the Solar Campus (building challenge) as well as each team’s overall building concept (design challenge).

Winners in each of the ten contests will receive their prizes at a public ceremony during the final from 10 to 26 June 2022, at which winners of the Out of Competition Awards will also be announced. The event will additionally feature lectures by the members of the jury.

Further information on the Solar Decathlon, the programme, and the 18 teams can be found in this article. (ks)



University of Wuppertal

+49 202 439 4510

The EnArgus information system provides information on research funding, including details on this project.

Nichts mehr verpassen:

© bluejayphoto